← zurück zum Kalender

Sym-phonie 2020
Sat, 25. Apr 2020, 20:00

für Tanz, Licht und Orchester
Choreography by Sasha Waltz
Music by Georg Friedrich Haas (commissioned work)

Sasha Waltz’s first creation for the Staatsballett Berlin is based on an original piece of music by Georg Friedrich Haas, that has been commissioned by the Staatsballett Berlin. Waltz’s evening-length work is the result of an intensive dialogue between choreographer and composer. Put together on the basis of a »movement libretto«, the œuvre is conceived for a symphonic instrumentation to be performed by 60 musicians of the Staatskapelle Berlin. A conscious decision is being taken to incorporate space for silent elements, prescribed by the dance, in which musical language and body language exist in intimate proximity. The decision to work in close connection on a project like this has grown from a long term artistic partnership and a series of conversations on the subject. Sasha Waltz and Georg Friedrich Haas were already acquainted through their involvement in a number of projects including the inauguration of the Neues Museum Berlin in 2009, an occasion where the two works Open Spaces and Streichquartett Nr. 1 have been performed.
Haas is one of the most successful composers of contemporary music. Georg Friedrich Haas is one of the most successful composers of contemporary music, not least because he has dedicated his work to the utopia of creating a new music that is both, expressive and pleasant at the same time — not though, but because it is new. Sasha Waltz is working with the dancers of the ensemble on a choreography, for which she is developing a unique system of kinetics. The fruit of this drawn-out artistic process will premiere on the stage of the Staatsoper Unter den Linden.

Concept and Choreography: Sasha Waltz
Music: Georg Friedrich Haas
Set Design: Pia Maier Schriever
Costumes: Bernd Skodzig
Light Design: David Finn
Musical Direction: Ilan Volkov
Performed by: Staatskapelle Berlin